Scholarships Awarded 2018-2019

May 23, 2018 6:41:09 PM

Topics: Scholarship, MMA News

The Scholarship Screening Committee reviewed sixty-nine applications for the 2018-2019 academic years. The Scholarship Screening Committee included Julie Ramer, Chair, Explore Minnesota Tourism, Jim Manson, Revenue, Marcia Lewis, Commerce, and Matthew Clay Minnesota State.

As a testimony MMA listens to our members, the Board of Directors approved to increase the number of potential scholarships from twenty to twenty-five. In addition, for the first time, MMA opened the scholarship program to also include member spouses.

There were more deserving applicants than available scholarships, so the screening committee chose the winners based upon academic achievement, school activities, work experience, family obligations as well as how the candidate gives back to their community.


The recipients for member category are:

Andy Formantes 
Department of Human Services

Nicole Frethem 
Department of Human Services

Sandra Hanson 
Department of Health

Theresa Haugen 
Pollution Control Agency

Sarah Kacena

Department of Human Services

Catherine Lassila

Department of Veteran Affairs

Beatriz Menanteau

Department of Health

Joseph Owen

Department of Human Services

Dawn Ryan

Department of Natural Resources

Kristina Somes

Department of Natural Resources


Karen Frey

Department of Natural Resources

The recipients for dependent category are:

Kaitlyn Bakken 
Mother is Michelle Bakken, Minnesota State

Allison Bauer 
Father is Kenneth Bauer, Department of MNIT

Olivea Boyer 
Father is Timothy Boyer, Department of Public Safety

Bailey Byrnes 
Mother is Julie Barbato Byrnes, Department of MNIT

Chloe Drummond 
Mother is Deanne Drummond, Minnesota State

Adam Fenlason 
Mother is Julie Fenlason, Minnesota State
Kristen Hemann 
Mother is Patty Hemann, Minnesota State
Joshua Maxwell 
Mother is Joan Maxwell, Department of Transportation
Rhiannon McCarty 
Father is Steven McCarty, Department of Corrections
Michael Schroeder 
Mother is Barb Schroeder, Department of Agriculture
Avery Tucker 
Mother is Dorene Fier-Tucker, Minnesota Pollution Control
Ellen Urquhart 
Mother is Kay Urquhart, Public Utilities Commission
Moselle Van Santen 
Father is Lucas Van Santen, Department of Transportation

The recipient for spouse category is:

Kathleen Opsal

Spouse of Walter Opsal, Department of Corrections


Our congratulations and best wishes to those selected.