Scholarships Awarded 2020-2021

May 12, 2020 7:30:37 AM

Topics: Scholarship, MMA News

The Scholarship Screening Committee reviewed eighty-five applications for the 2020-2021 academic years. The Scholarship Screening Committee included Julie Ramer, Chair, Explore Minnesota Tourism, Marcia Lewis, Commerce and Jay Maruska, DEED.

There were more deserving applicants than available scholarships, so the screening committee chose the winners based upon academic achievement, school activities, work experience, family obligations as well as how the candidate gives back to their community.


The recipients for member category are:

Sudhir (Sunny) Kamath 
Minnesota State
Beatriz Menanteau 
Department of Health
Jon Van Nurden 
Department of Revenue
Andrea Tacheny

 Andrea Tacheny 
Department of Human Services


Karolann Tollefson 
Department of Human Services

The recipients for dependent category are:

Jessica Bartz

Jessica Bartz 
Father is Nathan Bartz, Department of Corrections

Aaron Bauer

Aaron Bauer 
Father is Kenneth Bauer, Department MN.IT

Olivea Boyer 
Father is Timothy Boyer, Department of Public Safety

Alexis Carbert

Alexis Carbert 
Father is Scott Carbert, Department of Transportation

Katherine Dougherty

Katherine Dougherty 
Father is Michael Dougherty, Department of Transportation

Chloe Drummond-762123-edited
Chloe Drummond 
Mother is Deanne Drummond, Minnesota State
Kristen Hemann-1
Kristen Hemann 
Mother is Patty Hemann, Minnesota State
Caroline Kelley 
Mother is Sara Kelley, Department of Revenue
Brock Kolander 
Father is Todd Kolander, Department of Natural Resources
Joshua Maxwell-1
Joshua Maxwell 
Mother is Joan Maxwell, Department of Transportation
Hannah Nietfeld
Father is Dale Nietfeld, Department of Veterans Affairs
Kelsi Olson
Kelsi Olson 
Father is Gene Olson, Department of Corrections
McKenna Robb-1
McKenna Robb 
Father is Jeff Robb, Department of Transportation
Teerza Schultz 
Mother is Amber Schultz, Department of Human Services

Noah Tatro 
Father is Nikalaus Tatro, Department of Corrections

Jordan Thorpe
Jordan Thorpe 
Mother is Lori Thorpe, Department of DEED
Katherine Thorpe
Katherine Thorpe 
Mother is Lori Thorpe, Department of DEED
Rachel Winter
Rachel Winter 
Mother is Sara Winter, Department of Education

The recipient for spouse category is:

Chad Henzen

Spouse of Rachel Henzen, Department of Natural Resources


Susan Crow Kamath

Spouse of Sudhir "Sunny" Kamath, Minnesota State

Our congratulations and best wishes to those selected.