Scholarships Awarded 2022-2023

May 9, 2022 10:57:26 AM

Topics: Scholarship, MMA News

The Scholarship Screening Committee reviewed 75 applications for the 2022-2023 academic years. The Scholarship Screening Committee included Julie Ramer, Chair, Explore Minnesota Tourism, Nicole Riemenschneider, Corrections and Jay Maruska, DEED.

There were more deserving applicants than available scholarships, so the screening committee chose the winners based upon academic achievement, school activities, work experience, family obligations as well as how the candidate gives back to their community.


The recipients for member category are:

Lisa Antony-Thomas
Human Services
Rita Cho
Human Services
Jennifer Erickson
Human Services

 Meghan Rucinski
Minnesota State


The recipients for dependent category are:

Kira Bergman
Father is Randall Bergman, Department of Corrections

Allison Bruegger 
Father is Gregory Bruegger, Department of Transportation

Katherine Dougherty
Father is Michael Dougherty, Department of Transportation

Akshaya Ganeshkumar-1

Akshaya Ganeshkumar 
Father is Ganeshkumar Kathiresan, Teachers Retirement Association

Cassandra Giddings
Father is Charles Giddings, Department of Transportation

Annabelle Handt
Father is Clayton Handt, Department of Labor and Industry
Joseph Hulet
Joseph Hulet
Father is John Hulet, Department of DEED
Caroline Kelley
Caroline Kelley
Mother is Sara Kelly, Department of Revenue
Rachel Leholm-1
Rachel Leholm 
Mother is Jennifer Leholm, Department of Public Safety
Annikka Mattson
Annikka Mattson
Mother is Sarah Mattson, Department of Revenue
Megan Myers
Mother is Sandra Myers, Department of Education
Cori Olson
Cori Olson
Father is Gene Olson, Department of Corrections
Carly Parker
Father is Chad Parker, Department of Corrections
Emma Politoski 
Mother is Kristina Politoski, Department of Corrections

Harriet Slaats
Mother is Alison Slaats, MN.IT

Jordan Thorpe-1-1
Jordan Thorpe 
Mother is Lori Thorpe, Department of DEED
Katherine Thorpe
Katherine Thorpe
Mother is Lori Thorpe, Department of DEED
Kennedy Traxler
Father is Jamie Traxler, Department of Transportation

Abigail Van Horn
Mother is Sherry Van Horn, Department of Administration

The recipient for spouse category is:

Kara Henderson

Spouse of Timothy Henderson, Department of Commerce


Wayne Somes

Wayne Somes

Spouse of Kristina Somes, Department of Natural Resources

Our congratulations and best wishes to those selected.